NHAI to acquire land for Mumbai-Aurangabad-Nagpur High Speed Rail Corridor


The Indian Railways and the National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) will begin the process of acquiring additional land for running bullet trains on seven new routes, giving the country a huge network of high-speed trains.

It is being said that the NHAI will soon procure land to lay tracks for the project along the Greenfield expressways for integrated development of the rail transport network in the country.

Union Minister Nitin Gadkari recently chaired a meeting with a group of infrastructure ministers, during which the decision to acquire the land was taken.

NHAI Has Set up a 4-Member Committee for Land Acquisition

A four-member committee was constituted during the meeting to take the process forward. It will work out the modalities for acquiring land and sharing the cost. Notably, Indian Railways is already in the process of preparing the blueprint of the seven high-speed rail routes.

The New Bullet Train Will Run on These Routes

On high-speed corridors, trains can run at a speed of 300 km per hour while on semi high-speed corridors, trains can run at a rate of 160 km per hour. According to this report, seven routes have been chosen. These include:

  1. Delhi-Noida-Agra-Lucknow-Varanasi
  2. Delhi-Jaipur-Udaipur-Ahmedabad
  3. Mumbai-Nashik-Aurangabad-Nagpur
  4. Mumbai-Pune-Hyderabad
  5. Chennai-Bangalore-Mysore
  6. Delhi-Chandigarh-Ludhiana-Jalandhar-Amritsar
  7. Howrah-Patna-New Delhi

Railways have also given details of seven high-speed rail corridors to NHAI for running bullet trains. For better integration of the exercise, NHAI has been asked to depute a nodal officer.

Previous articleAurangabad Covid-19 Update | 2 June 2020
Next articleMumbai-Nashik-Aurangabad-Nagpur High-Speed Rail Corridor: NHSRCL starts aerial survey
CityKatta : Aurangabad's own social media platform


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here